Setting up my installation of white rocks

I found these rocks while at Lyme Regis. The beach is full of many different wonders, I go there to find rocks with holes but I decided to pick up these pure white rocks because of their colour but also their strange shapes and I thought they had to potential to work aesthetically. I wanted to experiment with them suspended against a white background to make them blend in but when you get closer they appear playing around with the flatness of the white wall against the obscure shapes of the rocks. I treated this piece as a 2 day long experimental project. The meaning of it is unknown but I noticed that when they were suspended and their shapes heightened and seen together they looked a bit like bones and when I noticed this it suddenly took on a different atmosphere and became quite chilling. My curiosity about rocks means thats if I see something of interest I will pick it up and because there is such a variety of rocks they are endless inspiration.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 14.35.20 Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 19.13.53

Leave a Reply

