Glenn Brown’s landscape paintings

My friend Tiff, (see her blog https://tiffanyhowe.wordpress.com/ to view her brilliant work) showed me these paintings by Glenn Brown because she knew I would love them and I do! His use of colour and composition creates a heightened reality, the images could be from an alternative world however his observation 0f the real world is clear. His work contains surrealist elements such the floating rocks that plays on this space between the real and unreal, something that really interests me and captures my imagination. What also stands out for me is the way he makes his marks to portray the movement of the water swirling around the rock. I have started to create more spontaneous marks since using chalk and charcoal, I will now try to do this in paint using longer brush strokes.

Glenn-Brown-02

glenn-brown-indy

Leave a Reply

