Dyffryn House Project – Coal drawings

Recently I have found whilst doing my dissertation that I have not done as much drawing as I would like. However today I decided to get back into it by making some sketches of coal pieces. I worked in acrylic, inks and charcoal, the latter to create a visual link between my drawings and the coal. The colour of the coal has become interesting when looking at it closely as each piece shows many colours other than black, many contain a blue tint which I have tried to portray in these sketches and will continue to do in some paintings that I am creating.

I am working on project about the coal industry in Wales.  I am hoping to create an installation made from coal to create a presence of the past within the space.

Leave a Reply

