Dissertation Tutorial – 16/12/14

 

Scan copy 2

I had a tutorial today which was really helpful as I was becoming quite stressed about he structure of my essay. I had 2 main strands of research, one about how objects are transformed through displacement and another about how objects are transformed through drawing. Jon suggested that I relate these to Freud’s Dream Theory and relate the two strands of my essay to the transformative processes in Freud’s theory – Displacement and Condensation. Displacement can be related to how artist’s displace objects  and how the objects meaning changes. Condensation can relate to transformation through drawing in the way that the artist mind concentrates on the subject of the drawing. This is a condensing in the mind.

After this tutorial I now feel a lot more confident about what direction to take.

 

Leave a Reply

