Dissertation Tutorial – 20/10/14

Scan

 

Since the start of this term I have started researching another strand to my essay about how geological objects are transformed through drawing. This came from being introduced to some ideas relating to my subject work about how drawing is used to aid science. I have been looking into how this has been the case throughout time and the ways that science and art has crossed over. I have written a section on Charles Lapworth, who is an example of geologist who used drawing to further knowledge. He made detailed drawings of an area in Scotland and consequently solved one of the biggest geological mysteries – The Highlands Controversy-why were these old rocks on top of younger rocks and why was there folds in the formation of the rock? Also why was there certain fossils in one part of the UK but not found anywhere else? Lapworth concluded through studying and making detailed drawings that the United Kingdom was once in two parts, separated by an ocean and these parts came together. He introduced the idea of tectonic plate movement. He was also a great cartographer and recorded his findings in geological maps.

After this tutorial I now know I need to find images of Lapworth’s drawings, for this I will look at his the University of Birmingham’s Lapworth museum archive.

I also want to talk about artists that drew the geological world and transformed it in doing so. I have been told to look at artist’s such as Constable and Ruskin.

 

Leave a Reply

